Iris+ review: A feature-rich drone that’s still simple to fly

Gigaom

I’m an anxious drone flyer. Even in San Francisco’s biggest fields, there are always other people and buildings that make me constantly evaluate the safety of my flight.

But I finally found my zen space with the 3D Robotics Iris+ quadcopter. The drone always performed exactly how I asked, and within a few minutes of my first flight I knew that I could trust it. With that kind of reliability came newfound courage. I felt comfortable flying the Iris+ in more daring (and thus more dramatic) locations, resulting in better footage.

What’s an Iris+?

Let’s start with the basics. The Iris+ is a quadcopter made by Berkeley-based 3D Robotics, which for the most part offers drones for professional applications like 3D mapping. The Iris+ is its flagship consumer drone. It starts at $750 for just the drone; the version I flew included a GoPro, GoPro camera stabilizer (also known as a gimbal)…

View original post 600 more words

Leave a Reply

